Academic Library

*For more information on internships in academic libraries, please contact reference services unless otherwise stated*

updated Sp.13:

Department: Science Library
Contact: Dr. Aditi Bandyopadhyay
Address: 1 South Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone: 516.877.3674
Email: bandyopa@adelphi.edu 

updated Sp. 13:

Department: Library; School Library Media Center
Contact: Lisa Von Drasek
Address: 610 West 112th St., New york, NY 10025
Phone: 212.875.4452
Email: lisav@bankstreet.edu 

Contact: Reference
Phone: 212.501.3025
Email:reference@bgc.bard.edu

Contact: Jenna Freedman
Phone: 212.854.4615
Email: zines@barnard.edu

Contact: Ellyssa Kroski
Email: ekroski@barnard.edu

——————————————————————————————————————————

Columbia University Libraries:

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Drawings and Archives
Contact: Janet Parks or Shelley Hayreh
Address: 300 Avery, Columbia University, 1172 Amsterdam Ave., MC0301, New York, NY
Phone: 212.854.6738
Email: jsp1@columbia.edu or sh2309@columbia.edu

Contact General Information/Reference for more information
Phone: (212) 851- 5607
Email: burkeref@libraries.cul.columbia.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Preservation and Digital Conversion Division
Contact: Emily Holmes, Asst. Director for Preservation Reformatting
Address: 101 Butler Library, 535 West 114th St., New York, NY
Phone: 212.854.1336
Email: eh2124@columbia.edu
Requirements: Must have taken Intro. to Preservation (LIS 657) pr have related library preservation experience

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Contact:Carrie Hintz
Address: Butler Library, 6th Floor, 535 West 114th St., New York, NY
Phone: 212.854.8481
Email: ceh2148@columbia.edu

Department: Butler Media Services
Contact: Insaf M. Ali, Supervisor
Phone: (212)854-3534
General Information Phone: (212) 854-5327
General Information Email: bmc@libraries.cul.columbia.edu

Contact General Information for more information
Phone: (212) 854-3630
Email: chrdr@columbia.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Cataloging
Contact: Jim Cheng, Director
Address: 300 Kent Hall, MC 3901, 1140 Amsterdam Ave., New York, NY
Phone: 212.854.1508
Email: jc3685@columbia.edu

Contact General Information for more information
Phone: (212) 854-2976
Email: engineering@libraries.cul.columbia.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Reference Services- Ask A Librarian Internship Program
Contact: Amanda Bielskas
Address: 601 Schermerhorn, 1190 Amsterdam Ave., New York, NY
Phone: 212.854.6767
Email: asb2154@columbia.edu

Contact: Miriam Colwell
Phone: (845) 365-8808
Email: mgc1@columbia.edu or miriam@ldeo.columbia.edu

Contact Reference
Phone: (212) 305-3692
Email: hs-library@columbia.edu

Contact General Information/ Reference for more information
Phone: (212) 854-3794
Email: lehman@libraries.cul.columbia.edu

Contact Library Services for more information
Phone: (212) 678-3494
Please click here in order to request information via email

updated Spr. 2013
Contact: Kathleen Dreyer
Address: 535 W 114th Street, NY, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 854-5723
Email: kd2145@columbia.edu

——————————————————————————————————————————–

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Division of Rare Books and Manuscript Collections
Contact: Katherine Reagan, Curator-Asst. Director
Address: 2B Carl A. Kroch Library, Cornell University Ithaca, NY
Phone: 607.255.3530
Email: kr33@cornell.edu

——————————————————————————————————————————-
City University of New York (CUNY):

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Cataloging Department/Collection Management Division
Contact: Sheau-yueh Janey Chao
Address: 151 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010
Phone: 646.312.1691
Email: sheau-yueh.chao@baruch.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Archives and Special Collections
Contact: Marianne LaBatto or Jahongir Usmanov
Address: 2900 Bedford Ave. Brooklyn, NY
Phone: 718.951.5346
Email: marianne@brooklyn.cuny.edu or jusmanov@brooklyn.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Archives and Special Collections- Cohen Library
Contact: Professor Van Nort
Address: 160 Convent Ave., North Academic Center (NAC): Room 5/301, New York, NY
Phone: 212.650.7609
Email: svannort@ccny.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Reference Division- Cohen Library
Contact: Professor Rob Laurich
Address: 160 Convent Ave., New York, NY
Phone: 212.650.7153
Email: roblaurich@yahoo.fr

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Music Library
Contact: Rebecca Koblick, Chief
Address: Shepard Hall, Room 160, New York, NY
Phone: 212.650.7120
Email: rkoblick@ccny.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Cataloging Services
Contact: Ewa Dzurak
Address: 2800 Victory Blvd., Staten Island, NY
Phone: 718.982.4021
Email: ewa.dzurak@csi.cuny.edu

updated Spring 2013
Contact: Barbara Gray, TinaMarie Vella
Address: 219 West 40th Street, 3rd Floor, NY, NY 10018
Phone: (646)758-7735/7752
Email: barbara.gray@journalism.cuny.edu, tinamarievella@journalism.cuny.edu

Archives and Special Collections
Contact: Julio L. Hernandez-Delgado, Department Head
Phone: 212-772-4149
Email: archives@hunter.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13:
Centro de Estudios Puertorriquenos
Department: Centro Library and Archives
Contact: Alberto Hernandez
Address: 2180 Third Avenue at 119th Street in El Barrio
Phone: 212.396.7876
Email: alberto.hernandez@hunter.cuny.edu

updated Sp. 13
Hunter College Wexler Library
Contact: Claiborne (Clay) Williams
Address: 695 Park Ave  New York, NY 10065
Phone: (212) 772-4137
Email: clwillia@hunter.cuny.edu

Contact: Reference
Phone: 212-237-8246
Email: llibref@jjay.cuny.edu

updated Fall 2013
Contact: Jo-Ann Mallozzi
Address: 65-30 Kissena Blvd., Flushing, NY 11367
Phone: 718-997-3700
Email: joann.mallozzi@qc.cuny.edu

——————————————————————————————————————————-

Contact: Internship Center
Phone: (212)217-3000
Email: internship_center@fitsuny.edu

Contact: Linda Loschiavo
(212)636-6055
Email: loschiavo@fordham.edu

Contact: Alia Methven
Email: aliamethven@greenwichacademy.org
(203)552-4403

Contact: Lisa Spar
(516)463-5392

updated Fall 2012
Contact: Amy Catalano
Address: 026 Hagedorn Hall, Hempstead Tpke, Hempstead, NY 11549
Phone: (516) 463-5980
Email: amy.catalano@hofstra.edu

Contact: Geri Solomon
Email: Geri.Solomon@hofstra.edu
(516)463-6407

Indiana University
Contact: Jenn Riley
812-856-5759
Email: jenrile@indiana.edu

Iona College
Contact: Valerie Masone
914-633-2449
Email: vmasone@iona.edu

Jewish Theological Seminary

updated Spr. 2013

Contact: Naomi Steinberger / Sarah Diamant

Address: 3080 Broadway, NY, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 678-8982

Email: nsteinberger@jtsa.edu

John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd George Sealy Library
212-237-8265
Email: lesjj@cunyvm.cuny.edu

The Julliard School
Contact: Jane Gottlieb
212-799-5000 ext. 265
Email: gottlieb@julliard.edu
Main duties: Archives

Katherine Gibbs School
Contact: Joan M. Kurtz
631-370-3378
Email: jkurtz@gibbsmelville.com

Lehman College, Leonard Lief Library (CUNY)
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Madeline Cohen
Address: 250 Bedford Park West, Bronx, NY 10468
Phone: 718-960-7765
Email: Madeline.Cohen@lehman.cuny.edu

Long Island University, B. Davis Schwartz Special Collections and Archives
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Jarron Jewell
Address:720 Northern Blvd. Brookville, NY 11548
Phone: 516-299-2880
Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Long Island University; Brooklyn Campus
Contact: Sandhya Srivastaua
718-780-4181
Email: ssrivast@liu.edu

Long Island University, Digital Initiatives, Art Slide Library
Contact: Catherine Larkin
516-299-2928
Email: Digislide@cwpost.liu.edu
Main duties: Variety of work with art historians, digital technicians, archivists and librarians

Louis Armstrong House Museum, Armstrong Archives
Contact: Baltsar Beckeld
718-997-3670
Email: baltsar.beckeld@qu.cuny.edu

Manhattanville College Library
updated Fall 2012
Contact: Jeff Rosedale
Address: 2900 Purchase Street, Purchase, NY 10577
Phone: (914) 323-5277
Email: jeff.rosedale@mville.edu

Marist College
Contact: John Ansley
845-575-5217
Email: John.Ansley@marist.edu

Marymount College of Fordham University
Contact: Diane Deery
914-332-8251
Email: Zegadeery@fordham.edu
Main duties: How statistics are kept, learn about collection development, observe/teach a course in bibliographic instruction, conduct reference surveys

Marymount Manhattan College
Contact: Rona Ostrow
212-517-0509
Email: rostrow@scils.rutgers.edu
Main duties: Work with systems librarian, establish internet connectivity, access the OPACs

Metropolitan College of New York (MCNY)
Contact: Lou Acierno
212.343.1234 x2015
Email: lacierno@mcny.edu
Main Duties: Reference desk, reviewing and recommending new electronic resources, creating online research guides, working with interactive teaching technologies, re-designing the library homepage, creating animated PowerPoint tutorials and digitizing archival material.

Montclair State University
Contact: Judith L. Hunt
973-655-4301
Email: huntjl@mail.montclair.edu

Nassau Community College
Contact: Sharon Russin
576-572-7449
Email: russins@ncc.edu

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Contact: Bruce Slutsky
973-642-4950
Email: slutsky@adn.njit.edu

New York Academy of Medicine Library
updated Spr. 13
Contact: Arlene Shaner
Address: 1216 Fifth Avenue, NY, NY 10029
Phone: 212-822-7300
Email: library@nyam.org

New York College of Health Professions
Contact: Mary Kim
516-364-0808 Ex. 127
Email: mkim@nycollege.edu

New York Institute of Technology
Contact: Gerri Flanzraich
516-686-7657
Email: gflanzra@nyit.edu

New York Medical College
Contact: Diana Cunningham
914-5964-4207
Email: Diana_Cunningham@nymc.edu
Main duties: Developing collections for health departments, creating a story hour program for young patients, developing a web/print collection for a children’s hospital

New York University, Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
updated Sp. 2013
Contact: Bill Maltarich
Address: 20 Cooper Square, 3rd Floor, New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 998-2553
Email: bill.maltarich@nyu.edu


New York University, Data Services Workgroup

Contact: Gretchen Gano
212-998-2662
Main duties: Assist the DS workgroup in designing and implementing a new service model for the delivery of quantitative and qualitative data services at NYU library.

New York University, Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
Contact: Tom McNulty
212-998-2519
Email: tom.mcnulty@nyu.edu
Main duties: Reference work, disability services

New York University Law School
Contact: Jay Schuman
212-998-6310
Email: jay.schuman@nyu.edu
Main duties: Law library

updated Sp. 13:
Department: Bern Dibner Library
Contact: Lindsay Anderberg, Archivist and User Services Librarian
Address: 5 MetroTech Center Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone: 718.260.3943
Email: landerberg@poly.edu

Pace University Library
Contact: Steve Feyl
914-773-3233
Email: sfeyl@pace.edu
Main duties: Mortola Library
Website: www.pace.edu/library

Pratt Institute
Contact: Paul Glassman
Email: glassman@pratt.edu
Main duties: Archival and Public Service Internships available.

Queens College Rosenthal Library
Contact: Shoshana Kaufman
718-997-3741
Email: shoshana.kaufman@qc.cuny.edu

Rockefeller University, Child and Family Center
Contact: Carol Feltes
Email: cfeltes@rockefeller.edu
Main duties: Inventory and organize collection of children’s books

Rice University
Contact: Amanda Focke
713-348-2124
Email: afocke@rice.edu
Main duties: Arrange/describe archival section, create an encoded archival description, participate in digitization of manuscript materials

Sarah Lawrence College Library
Contact: Jenni Mcspadden
914-395-2225
Email: jmcspadd@slc.edu

The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Contact: Sharon Howard
212-491-2200
Email: showard@nypl.org
Main duties: Research and reference

South Carolina Political Collections, University of South Carolina
Contact: Lori Schwartz
803-777-3061
Email: schwartz@sc.edu

St. Francis College
Contact: James P. Smith
718-489-5306
Email: jsmith@stfranciscollege.edu
Main duties: Library

St. Joseph’s College, Callahan Library
Contact: S. Joan Ryan
Email: jryan@sjcny.edu
Main duties: Technical services, interlibrary loan requests, curriculum materials, information literacy instruction, circulation and periodicals procedures, and archival management.

St. Joseph’s College, McEntegart Hall Library
Contact: Lauren Kehoe
718.940.5877
Email: lkehoe@sjcny.edu

St. Thomas Aquinas College
Contact: Mary Anne Lenk
845-398-4221
Email: stac.edu

Suffolk Community College
Contact: Hedi Benaicha
631-451-4172
Email: beuaich@suffolk.suny.edu

SUNY Maritime College, Stephen B. Luce Library
Contact: Joseph A. Williams
718-409-7229
Email: jwilliams@sunymaritime.edu

SUNY Purchase College
Contact: Rebecca Albrecht
914-251-6417
Email: rebecca.albrecht@purchase.edu

SUNY Stony Brook Department of Radiology
Contact: Maura Chodkowski
631-444-7955
Email: mchodkow@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Main duties: Cataloging work

Tamiment Library, New York University
Contact: Donna L. Davey
212-998-2669
Email: dd424@nyu.edu

Touro Law School
Contact: James G. Durham
631-761-7155
Email: jdurham@tourolaw.edu
Main duties: Gould law library

University of Connecticut, Jeremy Richard Library
Contact: Nancy Gillies
203-251-8439
Email: nancy.gillies@uconn.edu

University of Kentucky
Contact: Deirdre Scaqqs
859-257-3653
Email: deirdre@uky.edu
Main duties: Special collections, digital programs
Website: www.uky.edu/libraries

University of New Haven
Contact: Hanko H. Dobi
203-932-7191
Email: hdobi@newhaven.edu
Main duties: Responsible for reference and information services, responsible for supervising reference staff, provides coverage of reference desk, monthly activity reports

University of Pennsylvania Law School, Biddle Law Library
Contact: Ed Greenlee
Phone: 215.898.4169
Email: egreenlee@law.upenn.edu

University of South Carolina
Contact: Lori Schwartz
803-777-3061
Email: schwartz@sc.edu

University of Texas at Austin
Contact: Christian Kelleher
512-495-4520
Email: jelleher@mail.utexas.edu

University of Texas at San Antonio
Contact: Gerrianne Schaad
210-458-2381
Email: gerrianne.schaad@utsa.edu
Main duties: Archival work

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Contact: Marilyn Stern
516-773-5505
Email: srernm@usmma.edu
Main duties: Bland Memorial library

Vassar College
Contact: Thomas Hill
805-437-5791
Email: thhill@vasser.edu

Weill Medical College
Contact: Kristine Alpi
212-746-6504
Email: kma2002@med.cornell.edu

Yale University
Contact: Tatjana Lorkovic
203-432-1861
Email: tatjana.lorkovic@yale.edu
Main duties: Slavic and East European Collection, Sterling Memorial library

Yale University, Science Libraries
Contact: David Stern
203-432-3447
Email: david.stern@yale.edu
Main duties: Mathematics library

Yale University, Social Science Library
Contact: Amy Burlingame
Email: hrlibrary@yale.edu

Adelphi University; Science Department
Contact: Aditi Bandyopadhyay
516-877-4166
Email: bandyopa@adelphi.edu

ASA Institute’s Arthur J. Hidalgo Library
Contact: Anne Swain
718.534.0775
Email: aswain@asa.edu
ASA Institute Arthur J. Hidalgo Library
Main duties: Cataloging work