Archives/Records Management

Alcoholics Anonymous’ General Service Office

Contact: Tara Bang

Email: bangt@aa.org

Main duties: Organization, arrangement, description, and preservation of archival records

American Civil Liberties Union
updated fall 2013 

212-549-2509

Kristen Kennedy, Associate Archivist and Records Center Coordinator

kkennedy@aclu.org

American Foundation for the Blind

Contact: Daniel Cuff

212-502-7630

Email: dcuff@afb.net

Main duties: Create/maintain archival database, participate in oral history project, assist librarian in re-organization and restoration

American Geographical Society

Contact: Peter Lewis

212.422.5456

Email: pglewis@amergego.org

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC) Archives Experiential Education Listings (revised)
updated Fall 2013
(multiple internships, see link above for details)
E-mail: ExperientialEducation@jdc.org

American Library In Paris

Contact: Adele Witt

01133-153-59126

Email: adwitt@americanlibraryinpairs.org

American Museum of Natural History, Dept. of Library Services

Contact: Barbara Mathe

212-769-5419

Email: bmathe@amnh.org

American Museum of Natural History, Hidden Collections project, Library and Science Dept Archives
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Rebecca Morgan
Address: Central Park West @ 77th Street, New York, NY 10024
Email: rmorgan@amnh.org

American Museum of Natural History, Research Library
updated Spring 2013
Contact: Alexa Metrick
Address: Central Park West at 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Phone: (212) 313-7591
Email: ametrick@amnh.org

American Society for Jewish Music

Contact: Judith Tischler

845-362-5378

Email: judithtischler@hotmail.com / jutischler@jtsg.edu

Anti-Defamation League

Email: jobs@adl.org

Main duties: Cataloging and archival management

Archives of American Art

Contact: Joy Weiner

212-399-5015

Email: weinerj@si.edu

Archive of Contemporary Music

Contact: Bob George

212-226-6967

Email: arcmusic@inch.com

Main duties: Cataloging, filing, repackaging, assisting with fundraiser, and organizing 45rpm records

Associated Press

Contact: Valerie Komor

212-621-1731

Email: vkomor@ap.org

Atlantic/Elektra Records Archives

Contact: Grayson Dantzic

212.707.2094

Email: Grayson.Dantzic@atlanticrecords.com

Ballet Hispanico

Contact: Elizabeth Jones

Email: ejones@ballethispanico.org

Bank of America

Contact: Lauren.Gallagher

Email: adeccona.com

Main duties: Records management

Ben Zion Estate

Contact: Rebecca Pristoop

Email:  rpristoop@gmail.com

Brooklyn College Library – Archives and Special Collections

Contact: Marianne LaBatto

718-951-5346

Email: marianne@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Brooklyn Historical Society, Administration

Contact: Janice Monger

718-222-4111 ext. 225

Email: jmonger@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Historical Society, Othmer Library, Archive and Manuscript Collection

Oontact: Larry Weimer

718-222-4111

Email: lweimer@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Museum Libraries

Contact: Laura Peimer

718-501-6404

Email: laura.peimer@brooklynmuseum.org

Main duties: Arranging and describing archival collections, working with the archivist staff, records management projects

Carnegie Hall

Contact: Kathleen Sabogal

212-903-9777

Email: ksabogal@carneigehall.org

Main duties: Archives

Center for Jewish History
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Rebecca Clark
Address: 15 West 16th Street New York, New York 10011
Phone: no phone calls please
Email: rclark@cjh.org

Centereach Academic Center

Contact: Gail Barraco

631-286-0891

Email: gbarraco@esboces.org

Main duties: Library

Center for Traditional Music and Dance

Contact: Gabrielle Hamilton

212-571-1555 Ex. 27

Email: gmhamilton@ctmd.org

Main duties: Create index collection, maintain photographic archive, work with web designer, create catalog of digital images

Center of Southwest Studies at Fort Lewis College (located in Durango, CO)

Contact: Todd Ellison

970-247-7126

Email: ellison_t@fortlewis.edu

Main duties: Archival work

Note: Must be an enrolled tribal member of a U.S. federally recognized tribe; this includes Native Hawaiians.

Century Association Archives Foundation

Contact: Russell Flinchum

212-391-8054

Email: archives@thecentury.org

Main duties: Help process materials, compile a shelf list collection

City Hall Library

Contact: Christine Bruzzese, Supervising Librarian

Phone:(212) 788-8596

The Coney Island Museum

Contact: Sarah Ziebell

Email: sarahjziebell@hotmail.com

Main duties: Completing the processing of the Coney Island U.S.A. archives and the arrangement and description of several other small archival collections

Columbia University Libraries, Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Contact: Susan G. Hamson

Email: sgh2105@columbia.edu

Columbia University Libraries, Special Collections Metadata and Cataloging

Contact: Rick Block

212-854-2237

Email: blockr@columbia.edu

Computer History Museum

Contact: Human Resources

Conjuring Arts Research Center
updated Fall 2012
Contact: Jen Spota
Address: 11 W 30th Street, New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 594-1033
Email: jen@conjuringarts.org

Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Design

Contact: Stephen Van Dyst

212-849-8335

Email: vandyst@ch.sl.edu

Cornell University Library, Rare and Manuscript Division

Contact: Katherine Reagan

607-255-3530

Email: kr33@cornell.edu

Main duties: Division of rare and manuscript collections

Dance Notation Bureau

Contact: Mei-Chen Lu

212-571-7011

Email: library@dancenotation.org

Democracy Now! Archive

Contact: Nicole Martin

212.431.9090

Email: nmartin@democracynow.org

DiMella Shaffer (Boston, MA)

Contact: Human Resources

Email: hr@dimellashaffer.com

Main duties: Corporate librarianship and archival work

Dalton School

Contact: Adele Bildersee

Email: adele@dalton.org

Drew University Archives

Contact: Cheryl Oestreicher

Email: coestrei@drew.edu

Main duties: Archival work

Fairfield University, Library – Archives and Special Collections
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Elise Bochinski
Address: 1073 North Benson Road, Fairfield, CT 06824
Phone: (203) 254-4000 ext. 2892
Email: ebochinski@fairfield.edu

Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Contact: Rosemary Lazenby

212-720-8991

Email: rosemary.lazenby@ny.frb.org

Forbes Magazine, Collection Archives

Contact: Bill Casari

212-620-1829

Email: wcasari@forbes.com

Fox News Channel, Brain Room

Contact: Liza Cohen

212-301-5357

Email: liza.choen@foxnewschannel

Franklin Furnace Archive, Inc.

Contact: Martha Wilson

Email: harley@franklinfurnace.org

Main duties: Cataloging and archival work for this NYC performance art archive firm

Frick Art Reference Library

Contact: Sally Brazil

212-547-0648

Email: brazil@frick.org

Friends Academy School

Contact: Judith James

516-393-4279

Email: jamesju@fa.org

General Society of Mechanics and Tradesmen of the City of New York

Contact: Melanie James

Email: mjames@generalsociety.org

Glen Cove Public Library

Contact: Carol Stern

516-676-2130

Email: carolgcpl@yahoo.com

Godfrey Memorial Library

Contact: Tom Kemp

860-346-4375

Email: tkemp@godfrey.org

Guggenheim Museum

Contact: Rebecca Clark

212-998-2680

Email: rclark@guggenheim.org

Main duties: Searching for matching MARC records, checking derived records against books, processing / shelving cataloged books

Hadassah

Contact: Susan Woodland

Email: swoodland@hadassah.org

Hicksville Historical Archive

Contact: James Janis

(516) 931-1417. Ext 101

Main Duties: Archival work from digitization to weeding

Historic Hudson Valley

Contact: Catalina Hannan

914-631-8609

Email: librarian@hudsonvalley.org

Hofstra University

Contact: Geri Solomon

516-463-6407

Email: geri.solomon@hofstra.edu

Main duties: Create an exhibit, administrative activities, reference activity, arrangement of archival collection

Huguenot Yacht Club of New Rochelle

Contact: Jenni Rodda

212-992-5872

Email: jenni.rodda@nyu.edu

Main duties: Archival and cataloging work

Hunt Hill Farm Trust, Inc.

Contact: Jessica Stewart

860-355-0306

Email: stewartj@hunthillfarmtrust.org

Hunter College, Centro de Estudios Puertorriquenos, Library and Archives

Contact: Jorge Matos

212-650-3069

Email: jmatos@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College Libraries

Contact: Julio L. Hernandez-Delgado

212-772-4149

Email: jhernand@hunter.cuny.edu

Main duties: Archives and special collections

International Center for Transitional Justice

Contact: Samantha Hinds

917-637-3889

www.ictj.org

Main duties: Organizing finding aids.

Interstate Environmental Commission

Contact: Peter L. Sattler

212-582-0380

Email: psattler@iec-nynjct.org

Iron Mountain

Contact: Lenore Greenberg

888-725-3769 Ex. 17

Email: lenore_greenberg@ironmountain.com

Jewish Museum of Maryland

Contact: Jennifer Vess

410.732.6400 x 213

Email: jvess@jewishmuseummd.org

Jim Henson Company

Contact: Awilda Bregand

323-802-1500

Email: abregand@henson.com

Jonas Mekas’s Fluxus Collection

Contact: L. Psibilskis

Email: liutauras@thing.net

Main duties: Archiving the personal collection of Jonas Mekas, avant-garde filmmaker and writer, founder and artistic director of Anthology Film Archives

Julliard School

Contact: Jane Gottlieb

212-799-5000 ext. 265

Email: gottlieb@julliard.edu

Main duties: Archives

Kurt Weill Foundation

Contact: David Farneth

212-505-5240

Email: dfarneth@kwf.org

Main duties: Updating repository website, converting exhibition into online exhibition

Locust Valley Library, Archives

Contact: Janis Schoen

(516) 671-1837

Main duties: Assist with organizing the many documents and pictures collected by the Library and the Locust Valley Historical Society, which is housed within the Library, and uploading this material to the website to share with the community.

Louis Armstrong House Museum, Armstrong Archives

Contact: Baltsar Beckeld

718-997-3670

Email: baltsar.beckeld@qc.cuny.edu

Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Cura Torial

Contact: Derya Golpinar

212-431-0233

Margaret Sanger Papers Project

Contact: Dr. Cathy Moran Hajo

212-998-8666

Email: Working with the editorial staff on microfilm, book and electronic publications.

Marvel Entertainment Inc.

Contact: Jennifer Cwiok

212-576-4000 ext. 8659

Email: jcwiok@marvel.com

Main duties: Publishing, library

Meserve-Kunhardt Foundation

Contact: Linda Badami

Email: linda@mkfound.org

Missouri State Archives

Contact: Shelly J. Croteau

573-751-4303

Email: shelly.croteau@sos.mo.gov

Main duties: Archival work for collection of material related to African American history in Missouri

The Morgan Library & Museum, Dept of Literary and Historical Manuscripts

Contact: Clara Drummond

Email: cdrummond@themorgan.org

Morris-Jumel Mansion

Contact: Ken Moss

212-923-8008

Main duties: Archival work.

Motorola

Contact: Patrick J. Cunningham

847.576.5469

Email: Patrick.Cunningham@motorola.com

MTA

Contact: Mary Hedge

Email: mhedge@mtabt.org

Museum of the City of New York, Theater Collection

Contact: Sophie Oberstein

Email: soberstein@mcny.org

Nassau County Planning Department Library

Contact: Linda King

Linda King

(516) 571-0003

Email: LKing1@nassaucountyny.gov

Main duties: Cataloguing, inventory and evaluation of materials. Assist with archiving and creating case histories to catalogue into the permanent County database.

Natchez National Historical Park

Contact: Cheryl Munyer

601.445.5395

Email: cheryl_munyer@nps.gov

National Archives and Records Administration Northeast Region

Contact: Bonnie Marie Sauer

212-401-1622

Email: bonnie.sauer@nara.gov

National Baseball Hall of Fame, Photograph Archive

Contact: Melissa Marietta

Email: internship@baseballhalloffame.org

Website: www.baseballhalloffame.org

Main duties: Assisting in the archiving of photographs, negatives, slides and a variety of other formats.

National Museum of American History

Apply here: https://solaa.si.edu/solaa/SOLAAHome.html

Contact: Alison L. Oswald

202.633.3726

Email: oswalda@si.edu

National Park Service, Everglades National Park

Nancy Russell

Email: Nancy_Russell@nps.gov

Main duties: Museum Technician (Archives)

New York City Department of Environmental Protection, The Office of Records and Archives Management

Contact: Samar Qandil

212-490-4171

Email: sqandil@dep.nyc.gov

Main duties: Archives

New York City Office of Emergency Management

Contact: Terence Forsythe

Email: tforsythe@oem.nyc.gov

Main duties: Records Management

New York City Parks Photo Archive

Contact: Christina Benson

Email: photoarchive@parks.nyc.gov

Main duties: Archival work.

New York Public Library, Manuscripts & Archives Division
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Lea Osborne
Address: 31-11 Thomson Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone: (917) 229-9643
Email: leaosborne@nypl.org

New York Public Library, Berg Collection

Contact: Isaac Gewirtz

212-930-0820

Email: igewirtz@nypl.org

New York Public Library, Rodgers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound

Contact: Sarah Ziebell

Email: sarah_ziebell@nypl.org

New York Transit Museum

Contact: Carey Stumm

718-694-1068

Email: carey.stumm@nyct.com

Main duties: Archival work

Northport Historical Society, Library / Archives

Contact: Rosemary Feeney

631-757-9859

Email: nhsdirector@optonline.net

OCLC Digital Program

Contact: Gayle Palmer

800.848.5878 x4041

Email: palmerg@oclc.org

Pennsylvania State Archives

Contact: Brett Reigh

717-783-9877

Email: breigh@state.pa.us

Queens Borough Public Library

Contact: John Hyslop

718-990-0770

Email: jhyslop@queenslibrary.org

Main duties: Long Island division

Website: http://www.queenslibrary.org/

Queens Museum of Art

Contact: Erin Sickler

718-592-9700 ext. 124

Email: erin@queensmuseum.org

Main duties: Curatrial Dept.

Website: http://www.queensmuseum.org/

Radburn School (Fair Lawn, NJ)

Contact: Cathy Schrettner

201-703-0001

Email: schrettner@optonline.net

Main duties: Archival work

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum

Contact: Jennie Thomas

Email: jthomas@rockhall.org

Rockefeller Archive Center

Contact: Michele Hiltzik

914-366-6342

Email: mhiltzik@rockarch.org

The Regional Municipality of York, Ontario (Canada)

Contact: Julie Luckevich

Email: julie.luckevich@york.ca

Main duties: Archives research assistant

Sam Schwartz Company

Email: jcampbell@samschwartz.com

Main duties: Help set up a small library.

Scholastic Inc.

Contact: Donna Slawsky

212-343-7716

Email: dslawsky@scholastic.com

Main duties: Work with digital archive collection of historical and corporate images

The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Contact: Sharon Howard

212-491-2200

Email: showard@nypl.org

Main duties: Research and reference

Sea Cliff Public Library

Contact: Tom Witt

516 671-4290

Email: itpltomwitt@yahoo.com

Main duties: General librarianship

Shen Wei Dance Arts

Contact: Brett Egan

212-962-1113

Email: brettegan@shenweidancearts.org

Smithsonian Institution, Archives of American Art

Contact: Jennifer Snyder

Email: snyderj@si.edu

South Carolina Political Collection, University of South Carolina

Contact: Herb Hartsook

Email: herb@sc.edu

South Florida Collections Management Center

Contact: Bonnie (Grysko) Ciolino

305.242.7804

Email: Bonnie_Ciolino@nps.gov

Stamford Museum and Nature Center – Collections & Exhibitions Internship (Archives)
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Cathryn Oulighan
Address: 39 Scofieldtown Road, Stamford, CT 06903
Phone: (203) 322-1646
Email: coulighan@stamfordmuseum.org

StoryCorps

Email: internship@storycorps.net

Website: http://www.storycorps.net/

Main duties: Assist with the management of its recording booths, database, and archive.

Stratford Hall

Contact: Judith Hynson

Email: jshynson@stratfordhall.org

Suffolk County Parks, Historic Services

Contact: Richard Martin

631-854-0987

Supreme Court of the United States, Office of the Curator
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Erin Huckle
Address: 1 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20543
Phone: (202) 479-2940
Email: ehuckle@supremecourt.gov

SUNY Stony Brook University, Health Sciences Library

Contact: Kerry Anne Keegan

631.444.6903

Email: kerry.keegan@stonybrook.edu

Tamiment Library, New York University

Contact: Donna L. Davey

212-998-2669

Email: dd424@nyu.edu

Task Stream

Contact: Steve White

212-868-2700

Email: stevendwhite@gmail.com

Town of Babylon, Office of the Town Historian

Contact: Mary Cascone

631-893-2119

Email: mcascone@townofbabylon.com

Town of Brookhaven

Contact: Barbara M. Russell

631-451-8038

Email: brussell@brookhaven.org

Main duties: Historian’s office

Union Club

Contact: Ellen Bates

Email: ebates@theunionclub.com

Main duties: Archival work

United States Court of International Trade Library

Contact: Anna Djirdjirian

212-264-1829

Email: anna_djirdjirian@cit.uscourts.gov

Main duties: General librarianship work

United States Tennis Association (USTA)

Contact: Pamela J. Smith

Email: psmith@usta.com

Apply through the USTA website:

http://usta.recruitmax.com/ENG/candidates/default.cfm?szCategory=JobProfile&szOrderID=401

Main duties: Digitization archival work for film and video collection

University of Maryland, Studio Theatre Collection

Contact: Leahkim Gannett

Email: leahkim@umd.edu

Van Alen Institute (VAI) Design Archive

Contact: Jamie Hand

212.924.7000 x10

Email: jhand@vanalen.org

Wildlife Conservation Society Library/Archives

Contact: Kerry Prendergast

Email: library@wcs.org

WNYC Radio, Archives

Contact: Andy Lanset

646-829-4381

Email: alanset@wnye.org

Yale Center for British Art Library Internship

updated Fall 2013
Contact: Kraig Binkowski
Address: 1080 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06520-8280
Phone: (203) 432-2846
E-mail: kraig.binkowski@yale.edu

Applicants should send a resume and cover letter to Kraig
Binkowski.