Historical Societies/Museum

American Folk Art Museum

Contact: Maria Ann Conelli

212 265-1040 ext. 114

Main duties: Archives work.

American Irish Historical Society

Contact: William Hurley

212.288.2263

Email: bhurley@aihs.org

American Jewish Historical Society

Contact: Lyn Slome

Email: lslome@ajhs.cjh.org

Main duties: Archival and research work

American Museum of Natural History, Dept. of Library Services

Contact: Barbara Mathe

212-769-5419

Email: bmathe@amnh.org

American Museum of Natural History Library

212-769-5400

Email: libref@amnh.org

American Museum of Natural History Research Library

Contact: Diana Shih

Email: dshih@amnh.org

American Numismatic Society Library

Contact: Elizabeth Hahn

Email: hahn@numismatics.org

Anchorage Museum of History and Art

Contact: Kathleen Hertel-Baker

907-343-6189

Email: hertelkr@muni.org

Main duties: Archival and museum work

Archives of American Art

Contact: Joy Weiner

212-399-5015

Email: weinerj@si.edu

Babylon Town Historian’s Office

Contact: Mary Cascone, Historical Archivist

Email: mcascone_at_townofbabylon.com

(631)893-2119

Main duties: Archival work

Brooklyn College Archives, Brooklyn College Library

Contact: Anthony Cucchiara

718-951-5581

Email: tonyc@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Main duties: Archival work

Brooklyn Historical Society

Email: library@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Historical Society, Othmer Library, Archive and Manuscript Collection

Oontact: Larry Weimer

718-222-4111

Email: lweimer@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Musuem

Contact: Deirdre Lawrence

Email: Deirdre.Lawrence@brooklynmuseum.org

Main duties: Archival and preservation work.

The Children’s Aid Society

Contact: Truda Jewett

212.949.4847

Email: tjewett@childrensaidsociety.org

Clark Art Institute

Email: HumanResources@clarkart.edu

Clark Project Description

Main duties: Archives

Computer History Museum

Contact: Human Resources

Coney Island Museum

  • Contact: Aaron BeebeEmail: aaron@coneyisland.comMain Duties: Archival processing activities
  • Contact: Internship CoordinatorEmail: interns@coneyisland.com

Conjuring Arts Research Center

Contact: Sara Butler Dockery

Email: sdockery@conjuringarts.org

Main duties: Research to aid in the creation of Ask Alexander, an all encompassing magic database. Interns will be responsible for using internet tools to gather materials related to the library’s collection.

Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum

Contact: Internship Coordinator, Design Education Resource Library

2 East 91st Street

New York, NY 10128

Main duties: Cataloging work

Frick Art Reference Library

  • Contact: Rodica Tanjala Krauss212-547-0653Email: krauss@frick.org
  • Contact: Lily Pregillpregill@frick.org

The Granger Collection

Contact: Laura Williams

212-447-1789

Email: lwilliams@granger.com

Main duties: Meta Data

Guggenheim Museum

Contact: Rebecca Clark

212-998-2680

Email: rclark@guggenheim.org

Main duties: Library

Guggenheim Museum Offices

Contact: Rachel Chatal Bush

212-360-4232

Email: rchatalbush@guggenheim.org

Main duties: Library and archives department

Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society (HIAS)

Contact: Roberta Elliott

212.613.1350

Hicksville Historical Archives, Hicksville Library

Contact: James Janis

516-931-1417 ext. 101

Email: jamesgothmog13@aol.com

The Historical Society of the Town of Greenwich, CT

Contact: Lucinda Manning

Email: lmanning@hstg.org

Main duties: Archival and collections processing work

Holland Society of New York

Contact: Mary Collins

212-758-1675

Email: hsnylibrary@gmail.com

Main duties: N/A

Website: www.hollandsociety.org/library.html

Holocaust Memorial and Tolerance Center of Nassau County

Contact: Marlene Ostroff

516-571-8040

Email: marleneostroff@holocaust-nassau.org

Main duties: Create a complete inventory of all donated Holocaust artifacts, including database creation.

Kansas State Historical Society, Library and Archives Division

Contact: Bob Knecht

785-272-8681, ext. 304

Email: bknecht@kshs.org

Main duties: Archival work

Louis Armstrong House Museum, Armstrong Archives

Contact: Baltsar Beckeld

718-997-3670

Email: baltsar.beckeld@qc.cuny.edu

Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Cura Torial

Contact: Derya Golpinar

212-431-0233

Mercantile Library, Center for Fiction

Contact: Brenda Wegener

Email: brenda@centerforfiction.org

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Watson Library, Digitization
updated Fall 2013
Contact: John Lindaman
Address: 1000 Fifth Ave, New York, NY 10028
Phone: (212) 396-5222
Email: john.lindaman@metmuseum.org

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Watson Library Stacks Inventory Project
updated Fall 2013
Contact: John Lindaman
Address: 1000 Fifth Ave, New York, NY 10028
Phone: (212) 396-5222
Email: john.lindaman@metmuseum.org

Montpelier, the General Henry Knox Museum (Thomaston, Maine)

Contact: Ellen Dyer

207-354-0180

Email: archivist@generalknoxmuseum.org

Main duties: Museum operations

The Morgan Library and Museum

Contact: John Bidwell

212-685-0008

Email: jbidwell@themorgan.org

Museum of the City of New York, Collections Access Department

Contact: Lacy Schutz

Email: lschutz@mcny.org

Museum of the City of New York, Collections Management Department

Contact: Sloane Whidden

212-534-1672

Email: swhidden@mcny.org

Main duties: Various aspects of collections management.

Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Contact: Lorraine A. Stuart

713-639-7733

Email: lstuart@mfah.org

Main duties: Archival work

Museum of Modern Art Library

212-708-9433

Email: library@moma.org

Museum of Moving Images

Contact: Megan Forbes

718-784-4520

Email: mforbes@movingimages.us

Main duties: Collections department

National Museum of American History

Apply here: https://solaa.si.edu/solaa/SOLAAHome.html

Contact: Alison L. Oswald

202.633.3726

Email: oswalda@si.edu

New Museum of Contemporary Art

Email: internships@newmuseum.org

Newark Museum, Coll.’s of American Tibetan, Asian, Decorative, and African art; natural sciences

Contact: Kecia Artis

973-596-6550

Email: internsprogram@newarkmuseum.org

Main duties: General Information Management

New-York Historical Society Library

apply here:New York Historical Society

Contact: Cherie Fischer

212-873-3400

Email: internships@nyhistory.org

Main duties: Archival work, Creating and updating finding aids.

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center

Billy Rose Theatre Collection

Contact: Barbara Knowles

212 870-1835

Email: bknowles@nypl.org

Main duties: Archival work

Northport Historical Society and Museum

Contact: Rosemary Feeney

631-757-9859

Email: nhsdirector@optonline.net

Main duties: Offers a varied experience in all areas of library, museum, and office work.

Oyster Bay Historical Society

Contact: Thomas Kuehhas, Director

516-922-5032

Email: tk@oysterbayhistory.org

Main duties: Conduct an exhaustive inventory of our archival and photographic collections.

Oyster Bay Historical Society, Library / Archives

Contact: Phillip Blucklyn

516-922-5032

Email: tk@osyterbayhistory.org

Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

Email: RA-PHMCInterns@state.pa.us

Main duties: Archives, preservation and museum work

Pro Football Hall of Fame

Contact: Jason Aikens

330-456-8207

Main duties: Collections management in the museum’s Archives and Information Center

Queens Historical Society

Contact: Danielle Hilkin

Email: DHilkinQHS@gmail.com

Main duties: Archival work

Queens Museum of Art

Contact: Erin Sickler

Email: erin@queensmuseum.org

Main duties: Curatorial. Object registration and exhibition preparation including exhibition research, collections inventory, data entry and clean up, exhibition installation, deinstallation and processing including object movement and tracking.

Rockefeller Foundation

Contact: Bethany Martin-Breen

Email: bmartin@rockfound.org

Sharlot Hall Museum Library and Archives (Prescott, Arizona)

Contact: Ryan Flahive

928 445-3122 ext.15

Email: ryan@sharlot.org

Main duties: Manuscript cataloging

Smithsonian Institution Libraries

Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum Library

212-849-8339

Email: libmail@sil.si.edu

Smithsonian Horticulture Services Division

202-633-5840

Main duties: . A number of paid and unpaid internships are offered throughout the year in positions involving the management of two major collections: The

Archives of American Gardens and HSD’s Garden Furnishings and Horticultural Artifact Collection.

Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of American History

Jerome and Dorothy Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation

Contact: Alison L. Oswald

(202)633-3726

http://www.si.edu/lemelson/lemelson/internships.html

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) Archives (Suitland, Maryland)

Website for application: http://americanindian.si.edu/subpage.cfm?subpage=collaboration&second=internships&third=applications

Main duties: Archives and records processing

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

Archives and Records Management Department

Contact: Rachel Chatalbash

Email: archives@guggenheim.org

Main duties: Archives and records management work

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

Email: library@guggenheim.org

Mail duties: Opportunities in cataloging, periodicals and historic research

Suffolk County Parks, Historic Services

Contact: Richard Martin

631-854-0987

Town of Brookhaven

Contact: Barbara M. Russell

631-451-8038

Email: brussell@brookhaven.org

Main duties: Historian’s office

Weeksville Heritage Center

Contact: Emily Bibb

Email: emily@weeksvillesociety.org

Westchester County Historical Society

Contact: Elizabeth G. Fuller

914-592-4323

Email: elizabeth@westchesterhistory.com

Whitney Museum of American Art

Address: 945 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10021

Contact: Ivy Blackman

Email: hr@whitney.org, library@whitney.org, ivy_blackman@whitney.org