Rare Books and Special Collections

American Craft Council Library
212.274.0650
Email: library@craftcouncil.org

American Civil Liberties Union
Contact: Lindsay Turley
212-549-2509
Email: lturley@aclu.org

The American Library In Paris
Contact: Adele Witt
01133-153-59126
Email: adwitt@americanlibraryinparis.org

American Museum of Natural History Library
79th St & Central Park West, NY, NY 10024
212.769.5400
Email: libref@amnh.org

Analytical Psychology Club of New York, Carl G. Jung Center, Kristine Mann Library
Contact: Lorna Peachin
212.697.7877
lpeachin@wlsmail.org

ARF Roy Morgan Info Center
Contact: Bertc Schachter
646-465-5701
Email: info@theart.org
Main duties: Information services

Bank Of America
Contact: Allison Lewis
646-366-4570
Email: allison.m.lewis@bankofamerica.com

Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Culture and Design Library
Contact: Greta K. Earnest
212.501.3000
Email: gearnest@bgc.bard.edu

Bayville Free Library
Contact: Richard Rapecis
516-628-2765
Email: bayville@optonline.net
Main duties: Youth services

BBDO New York
Contact: Sylvia Wachtel
212-459-5103
Email: sylvia.wachtel@bbdo.com

Bet Torah Synagogue
Contact: Robin Holab-Abelman
646-235-4208
Email: Abelman@clancy-cullen.com
Main duties: Cataloging and re-organizing the 6,000 volume collection.

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
Contact: Len Sierra
203-798-5453
Email: lsierra@rdgboehringer-ingelheim.com
Main duties: R&D administration / scientific & crop. information services

Brooklyn Historical Society, Administration
Contact: Janice Monger
718-222-4111 ext. 225
Email: jmonger@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Historical Society Library
128 Pierrepont St, Brooklyn, NY 11201
718.222.4111
Email: reference@brooklynhistory.org

Brooklyn Museum, Art Libraries and Archives
200 Eastern Pkwy, Brooklyn, NY 11238
718.638.5000 x307

Brooklyn Public Library
Grand Army Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11238
718.230.2100

The Center for Western Studies (Sioux Falls, SD)
Contact: Harry F. Thompson
605-274-4007
Email: harry.thompson@augie.edu
Main duties: Assist wih outreach program committed to the preservation and interpretation of the history and cultures of the Dakotas and Northern Plains

City University of New York, Mina Rees Library of Graduate School and University Center
365 Fifth Ave, NY, NY 10016
212.817.7040

City Hall Library
Contact: Paul Perkus
212-788-8596
Email: pperkus@records.nyc.gov
Main duties: New York City department of records

Columbia University, University Libraries
Butler Library, Rm 516, 535 W.114th St, NY, NY 10027
212.856.2247
Email: lio@columbia.edu

Columbia University Libraries, Special Collections
Contact: Michael Ryan
Email: mtr2109@columbia.edu

Columbia University, Teachers College, Milbank Memorial Library
525 W.120th St, NY, NY 10027
212.678.3494
Email: director@edunet.tc.columbia.edu

Conjuring Arts Research Center
updated Fall 2012
Contact: Jen Spota
Address: 11 W 30th Street, New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 594-1033
Email: jen@conjuringarts.org

Cornell University Library, Rare and Manuscript Division
Contact: Katherine Reagan
607-255-3530
Email: kr33@cornell.edu
Main duties: Division of rare and manuscript collections

CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Contact: Consuella Askew
646-758-7735
Email: consuella.askew@journalism.cuny.edu
Main duties: Research center

Dance Notation Bureau
Contact: Mei-Chen Lu
212-564-0985
Email: library@dancenotation.org

Department of Professional Practice/Office of General Councel
Contact: Boris Musich
212.909.5632
Email: bmusich@kpmg.com

Department of Veteran’s Affairs; Medical Library
Contact: Mary Lou Glazer
631-261-4400 ext. 2967
Email: marylou.glazer@va.gov
Main duties: Medical library

The Donohue Group, Inc.
Contact: Heather MacFarlane
860-683-1647
Email: hmacfarlane@dgunc.com
Main duties: Project management – Columbia University site

Fairfield University, Library – Archives and Special Collections
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Elise Bochinski
Address: 1073 North Benson Road, Fairfield, CT 06824
Phone: (203) 254-4000 ext. 2892
Email: ebochinski@fairfield.edu

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Contact: Steven V. Vella
212.720.5472

Folger Shakespeare Library
Contact: Richard Kuhja
202-675-0327
Email: rkuhja@folger.edu
Main duties: Central library

Frick Art Reference Library
10 E.71st St, NY, NY 10021
212.288.8700

Granger Collection
212.447.1492
Email: lwilliams@granger.com

General Theological Seminary, Saint Mark’s Library
175 Ninth Ave, NY, NY 10011
212.243.5150

Grolier Club of New York Library
47 E.69th St, NY, NY 10022
212.838.6690
Email: grolier@grolierclub.org

Harper Collins Publishers
Contact: Tzofit Goldfarb
212-207-7132
Email: tzofit.goldfarb@harpercollins.com

Hastings Center Library of Garrison, NY
Contact: Karen Shea
845.424.4040 x256
Email: sheak@thehastingscenter.org

Hispanic Society of America Library
613 W.155th St, NY, NY 10032
212.926.2234

Holy Trinity Orthodox Seminary in Jordanville, NY (1 hour west of Albany)
Contact: Deirdre Stam
212-998-2681
Email: deirdre.stam@liu.edu

Holland Society of New York
Contact: Mary Collins
212-758-1675
Email: hsnylibrary@gmail.com
Main duties: N/A
Website: www.hollandsociety.org/library.html

Hospital for Special Surgery
Contact: Timothy Roberts
212-606-1210
Email: roberts@hss.com

Hunter College Archives & Special Collections, Rare Books Preservation Survey
updated Fall 2013
Contact: Julio Hernandez-Delgado and Louise Sherby
Address: 695 Park Ave, New York, NY 10065
Phone: (212) 772-4149
Email: jhernand@hunter.cuny.edu, lsherby@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College (CUNY) Library
695 Park Ave, NY, NY 10021
212.772.4146
Email: asklib@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College (CUNY), Centro de Estudios Puertorriquenos, Library and Archives
Contact: Jorge Matos
212-650-3069
Email: jmatos@hunter.cuny.edu

Image Permanence Institute (IPI)
Contact: AMIA Office
323.463.1506
Email: kkersels@amianet.org

J. Pierpont Morgan Library
Contact: Deirdre Stam
212-998-2681

Jewish Community Center of Harrison
Contact: Marvin M. Reiss
Email: mreiss1117@aol.com
Main duties: Monitor the workings of the library

Jewish Theological Seminary Library
3080 Broadway, NY, NY 10027
212.678.8075
Email: library@jtsa.edu

John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Lloyd George Sealy Library
899 Tenth Ave, NY, NY 10019
212.237.8265
Email: lesjj@cunyvm.cuny.edu

Johns Hopkins University’s Sheridan Libraries in Baltimore
Contact: Cynthia Requardt
Email: Requardt@jhu.edu
Main duties: Rare books collection.

Leo Baeck Institute
15 W.16th St, NY, NY 10011
212.744.6400
Email: lbaeck@lbi.cjh.org

Library of Congress
Applications online accepted online at: interns06@loc.gov
For details on how to apply: http://www.loc.gov/hr/jrfellows
Main duties: Broad spectrum of library work.

Long Island University, CW Post, B. Davis Schwartz Special Collections and Archives
Contact: Conrad Schoeflling
516-299-2880
Email: conrad.schoeflling@liu.edu

Long Island University, CW Post, B. Davis Schwartz Special Collections Department
Contact: Jarron Jewell
516.299.3407

Mercantile Library of New York
Contact: Brenda Wegener
212-755-6710
Email: brenda@mercantilelibrary.org
Main duties: Reference work and circulation

Mercantile Library, Center for Fiction
Contact: Brenda Wegener
Email: brenda@centerforfiction.org

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Thomas J. Watson Library (and branches)
1000 Fifth Ave, NY, NY 10028
212.650.2225
Email: watsonlibrary@metmuseum.org

Morgan Museum and Library (formerly Pierpont Morgan Library)
29 E.36th St, NY, NY 10016
212.590.0311
Email: media@morganlibrary.org

MTA
Contact: Mary Hedge
Email: mhedge@mtabt.org

Museum of the City of New York
1220 Fifth Ave at 103rd St, NY, NY 10029
212.534.1672
Email: research@mcny.org

Museum of Modern Art Library
11 W.53rd St, NY, NY 10019
212.708.9433
Email: library@moma.org

Nassau County Center Library, The Holocaust Memorial and Educational Center
Contact: Dr. Marcia Posner
Email: martv19@aol.com

National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution
Contact: Leanda Gahegan
Email: gahegan1@si.edu
Duties: Reference Services

New York Academy of Medicine Library
1216 Fifth Ave, NY, NY 10029
212.822.7300
Email: library@nyam.org

New York Botanical Garden, The LuEsther T. Mertz Library
2900 Southern Blvd, Bronx, NY 10458
718.817.8604
Email: libref@nybg.org

New York City Department of Records
Contact: Christine Bruzzese
212-788-8595
Email: cbruzz@records.nyc.gov
Main duties: City Hall library

New-York Historical Society Library
2 W.77th St, NY, NY 10024
212.873.3400

New-York Historical Society, Library / Manuscripts
2 W.77th St, NY, NY 10024
Contact: Maurita Balduck
212-485-9246
Email: mbalduck@nyhistory.org

New York Historical Society, Library Technical Services
2 W.77th St, NY, NY 10024
Contact: Henry Raine
Email: HRaine@nyhistory.org

New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox & Tilden Foundations Library
188 Madison Ave, NY, NY 10016
212.592.7404

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
40 Lincoln Square Plaza, NY, NY 10023
212.870.1639

New York University, Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South, NY, NY 10012
212.998.2511

New York University Law School
Contact: Jay Schuman
212-998-6310
Email: jay.schuman@nyu.edu
Main duties: Law library

Northport Historical Society, Library / Archives
Contact: Rosemary Feeney
631-757-9859
Email: nhsdirector@optonline.net

Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP
Contact: Larissa Woo
212-967-5700 ext. 576
Email: l.woo@ramsa.com
Main duties: Archives services

Smithsonian Institution Libraries, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum Library
2 E.91st St, NY, NY 10128
212.849.8339
Email: libmail@sil.si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Libraries, Internship Program
Contact: Mary Augusta Thomas
202.633.2240

Sony BMG Music Entertinment
Contact: Tom Tierney
212-833-4209
Email: thomas.tierney@sonymusic.com

South Carolina Political Collection, University of South Carolina
Contact: Herb Hartsook
Email: herb@sc.edu

South Nassau Communities Hospital
Contact: Claire Joseph
516-632-3452
Email: cjoseph@snch.org
Main duties: Jules Redish Medical Memorial Medical library

St. Luke’s Hospital Center
Contact: N. Panella, Ph.D
257-523-4315
Email: npanella@cmpnet.org
Main duties: Bolling Medical library

Suffolk County Parks, Historic Services
Contact: Richard Martin
631-854-0987

Swan Auction Galleries
Contact: Christine Von Derlinn
212-254-4710 ext. 20
Email: cvonderlinn@swangalleries.com
Main duties: Book department

Tamiment Library, New York University
Contact: Donna L. Davey
212-998-2669
Email: dd424@nyu.edu

Town of Brookhaven Historian’s Office
Contact: Barbara M. Russell
Email: brussell@brookhaven.org

UJA-Federation of New York
Contact: Irene Lehrer Sandalow
212-836-1752
Email: sandalowi@ujafedny.org
Main duties: Assist in setting up a library

Union Theological Seminary, The Burke Library
3041 Broadway, NY, NY 10027
212.280.1505
Email: refdesk@uts.columbia.edu

University Club Library
212.572.3418
Email: uclub2@rmi.net

Union League Club of New York
Contact: Carrie Hayter
Email: chayter@unionleagueclub.org
Main duties: Cataloging the literature holdings of the Club’s library

WNYC Radio, Archives
Contact: Andy Lanset
646-829-4381
Email: alanset@wnye.org

Yale Center for British Art Library Internship

updated Fall 2013
Contact: Kraig Binkowski
Address: 1080 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06520-8280
Phone: (203) 432-2846
E-mail: kraig.binkowski@yale.edu

Applicants should send a resume and cover letter to Kraig
Binkowski.

Yale University, Historical Sound Recordings (HSR)
Contact: Amy Burlingame
Email: hrlibrary@yale.edu

Yellowstone National Park, Yellowstone Research Library
Contact: Jessica Gerdes/Jackie Jerla
(307) 344-2264
Email: yell_research_library@nps.gov
Main duties: Cataloging and reference.